The Screen is Blank

The screen is blank. So is my mind, it would seem. I’ve been sitting in front of the screen for awhile now and nothing has been happening. So I have just started typing to see if anything will happen. I don’t want to let Tuesday pass by without offering a slice. Let’s try “right now.”

Right now I sit at the desk in my classroom.
Right now the building is quiet.
Right now the students are not here. They have left for the day.
Right now I hear door hinges creak as the custodian closes and locks classrooms.
Right now a colleague calls and asks about the laminator. I am no help, since I don’t use it much.
Right now I hear a plane flying by.
Right now I am imagining where I would fly to for a vacation.
Right now I just finished talking with another teacher. We need time to talk with each other!
Right now sun streams in through the window, beckoning me to go outdoors. Bye!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Screen is Blank

  1. Perfect! You did it. You wrote and shared. That idea of “right now” vs. “later” helped you out. Now I have to get busy, too! Thanks for the inspiration! I’m using it.

  2. margaretsmn says:

    This is an idea I may steal or suggest to my students who say “I don’t have anything to write.”

  3. Lori Sheroan says:

    Right now, I am smiling after reading your slice!! We do need to take time to talk to one another, imagine, enjoy the quiet, and listen.

  4. Jaana says:

    Right now I am feeling like Lori; I am smiling!

  5. arjeha says:

    Right now I am enjoying your post. It is amazing what goes on is the present if we are attuned to it.

  6. Dana Murphy says:

    Right now, I am smiling. The ending gave me a giggle – no time to write, people! The sun is calling!

  7. raeily says:

    That’s a great prompt. I like how you ended it as well.

Leave a Reply

