On the Way to Sunshine

Driving along the freeway,
nearly overwhelmed by the
sea of red tail lights I followed
and the waves of white head lights
coming toward me on the other side,

I almost missed the great
transformation as night
gave way fully to the new day…
Sky that was a muted blue-gray
lightened and brightened more each moment-

I was on the way to sunshine,
but I just about missed the realization,
worrying about traffic- then the truth dawned…
A perfectly brilliant day could be mine-
I was on the way to sunshine!

This entry was posted in poems, reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On the Way to Sunshine

  1. arjeha says:

    It is so easy to be stuck in a routine that we miss what is opening up before us. So glad you sasw the sunshine and the start of a beautiful day.

  2. Linda Baie says:

    And I’m happy about your realization! “I was on the way to sunshine!” Beautiful.

  3. Lynn says:

    It is funny how sometimes we may overlook something so beautiful! Glad you didn’t.

  4. Lori Sheroan says:

    I will hold onto this poem as a metaphor…sunshine ahead!!!! Thank you for sharing these encouraging words.

  5. Oh wow, I really liked this! I was a bit upset when I accepted my new position this year as it meant I’d have to be on an interstate for far too long, far too early in the morning. I loved this reminder; I get to see the day begin and I especially enjoyed the last two lines,
    “A perfectly brilliant day could be mine-
    I was on the way to sunshine!”

    • newtreemom says:

      My drive is about 30 minutes, and my school has an early start time for an elementary. For a few years I was at a school where I had a less than 10 minute drive and a later start. I am much happier with my early, longer drive…even though every now and then I miss my “window” and the traffic is bad.

Leave a Reply

