Surprise! Surprise!

One evening last week, I impulsively decided to stop for some country comfort food on the way home from school. I really wallowed in that comfort, too, and ordered breakfast for supper. I was alone, yet in good company as I read a book. I noticed the couple at the table next to mine. They appeared to be a little older than me, and as I sometimes do when I see an older couple that enjoys being together, I felt a twinge of jealousy and wished my husband had lived long enough for us to grow old together. But I was absorbed in my book and my food, and I didn’t dwell on it. Later, I noticed how they each dug into their pockets (well, she dug into her purse) gathering cash together, and then had a whispered conversation with the waitress. I was a little curious. A couple of minutes later, the waitress stopped at my table. “I don’t want to hurry you at all, but whenever you get ready, you are all set. That couple (she pointed to the table next to mine) paid for your food and tip.”

The next morning, I rushed out the door so I would have time for a Starbucks run. (Since it was the week before fall break, and since I had spent the week fighting a cold…I was treating myself.) When I pulled up to the window…you won’t believe this…
“The lady in the car ahead of you paid for your coffee. Enjoy!”

Blessed twice by strangers! There is grace in the world. I am on the lookout for my turn to pass it on.

This entry was posted in reflections, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Surprise! Surprise!

  1. Leigh Anne says:

    This has happened to me a couple of times and it is so much fun to be the surprisee as well as the supriser!

  2. Lori Sheroan says:

    Wonderful slice!!! Sounds like you are being repaid for past kindnesses. This definitely made me smile.

  3. jaclynfre says:

    What a beautiful back-to-back falling dominoes story. Thank you for sharing. I’m fighting a cold and know how much kindness mean when you’re not quite connected to your ability to completely enjoy life, surrounded by a miserable cold barrier.

  4. arjeha says:

    How wonderful! Unexpected kindness means do much.

  5. Ramona says:

    What a treat to be twice blessed in a 24 hour period. I thought they were digging around trying to find enough money to pay for their dinner, but no, they were figuring out how to treat you. Isn’t it fun to be on the lookout for ways to pass it on!

Leave a Reply

