Do You Like Bananas?

Do you like bananas? I don’t … and I do. The plain fruit, just to peel and eat, I am not that fond of. Sliced atop a bowl of corn flakes, sprinkled with sugar, and splashed with milk, not bad. Mashed up with peanut butter and spread onto soft white bread for a sandwich, also pretty good. Layered with pudding and vanilla wafers at a hundred Southern potlucks, yummy.

I have to admit, for whatever crazy reasons, I like banana-flavored things better than eating bananas or foods with bananas in them. I suppose this started when I was a kid, with Banana Flips, Banana Turkish Taffy and Now and Laters, and the mini-bananas in Runts. And I admit, the pretend bites of baby food bananas when I was 10, feeding my baby brother, were not always just pretend.

But my all-time favorite banana flavored treat is the banana popsicle. Cold and crunchy, juicy, too, it takes you back to a summer day at the pool, standing in line in your dripping swimsuit with your sister, quarters in your hand to buy you both a treat at the concession stand…or to a day when Mom would bring you one to soothe you when you weren’t feeling well.

Maybe one of these days I will give bananas their rightful place. But this week, the cold that has been advancing and retreating over and over the last few weeks finally won, and I ended up with bronchitis. I bought a box of banana popsicles.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Do You Like Bananas?

  1. shannonhorn1 says:

    Oh no! I hope you feel better soon! šŸ™‚ I’ve got to agree, there’s just something about bananas that make me gag. I enjoy the fake variety much, much more.

  2. blkdrama says:

    I’m right with you and beyond. No bananas, apples, peaches and pears in the raw but I do like apple sauce and apple cake. šŸ™‚

  3. arjeha says:

    I am not a fan of bananas by themselves either. I like mine in the morning on my cereal. Then there is banana bread, banana cream pie, banana pudding, etc.

  4. elsie says:

    I can only eat a banana at a certain degree of ripeness, and that usually passes very quickly. Enjoy your banana treats and get better soon.

  5. Ramona says:

    Oh, so much to say here. My dad used to say if we were out of bananas, we were out of groceries! I’m like Elsie, there’s a perfect point for me to enjoy a banana, but I eat them anyway at other stages. Just not unripe. My mother-in-law liked hers so green they crunched! And now you have me hankering for a banana popsicle!

Leave a Reply

