Random Observations from the Day

Here are a few things I noticed throughout the day today:

* I was the 16th voter at my polling place this morning

* A woman driving in the lane next to me this morning had a black glove on one hand and held a cigarette in that hand- no glove on the other hand, which she used on the steering wheel

* Voters were already arriving at school when I got there- one parked in the principal’s spot just as she was pulling up, and the principal waited as the person went to the front door, read the sign that directed voters to the rear of the school, and finally pulled out of her parking spot

* Only a few students had questions about voting- one student asked me again and again WHO I voted for

* Sometimes the day doesn’t go the way you were expecting it to- I was called on to sub for the sub of a fifth grade teacher on maternity leave, after several days of the class being split a few in each class throughout the school- oh, my, what a day

* My fledgling bloggers are getting more confident- though I still have two who can’t log in without help!

* After subbing, after meeting with my bloggers after school, and then a district committee meeting, a BBQ dinner is just what the doctor ordered

* At the restaurant I see a family with a daughter about three or four years old sporting a pink hearing aid (you go, girl!) and a few minutes later, I was approached by a man in a raggedy jacket with a card begging for donations because he is a deaf mute

* Relaxing on the couch with a purring cat is a calming way to end a busy day

This entry was posted in random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Random Observations from the Day

  1. arjeha says:

    There certainly was lots going on around you today. Love the last observation. A purring cat on the lap is a perfect way to relax.

  2. I love this idea and might have to try it myself. You did have a busy day! I’m glad you’re getting to relax to some purring right now.

  3. SJR says:

    many of your observations would be excellent prompts for story writing — that woman with the gloved hand holding the cigarette; the principal waiting for the voter to vacate her parking space; the young girl with a pink hearing aid, to list just a few. But it’s interesting that your town still has school when the school is a polling place. Here in New York all schools are closed on election day.

  4. Ramona says:

    Love your slice of ordinary! I miss going to the polls. Our state is all mail-in ballots now. It just doesn’t feel the same.

  5. Linda Baie says:

    Enjoyed reading all that you saw, experienced today. Although so busy, you seemed so up & happy at dinner and with that cat. Nice to hear.

  6. I’m very intrigued by the black glove! What an observation!

Leave a Reply

