One Book Leads to Another…and Another…

The debate over books vs. e-readers goes on, but to me there is no debate. I love “real” books, and I love my Kindle, too. I like magazines and newspapers. I just love reading, to put it simply. Borrowing library books on Kindle is one of my favorite things. Often I search for a specific book, but sometimes I just come across a title by chance. A recent read was the latter. And it turned into a reading spree, as I reread some books and discovered many by the same author, who wrote a lot more books than I knew.

I discovered Looking Back by Lois Lowry. In it she recounts memories from her life (Slices of Life!) and shares how they inspired the stories she wrote. Each chapter begins with a quote from one of her books and a photograph from her life. if you are looking for inspiration as a writer or words from an author to share with students, you will find them here. And maybe it will send you on a reading spree, too.

Here are some of the books I read on my Lois Lowry spree:
Gossamer
Find a Stranger, Say Goodbye
Crow Call
All About Sam
Autumn Street
Rabble Starkey
Gooney Bird Greene
The Giver
Number the Stars

Some I am still looking forward to:
A Summer to Die
Anastasia Krupnik
The Willoughbys

Also, more Gooney Bird, Sam, and Anastasia and maybe the other books in The Giver quartet

This entry was posted in thoughts on books. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Book Leads to Another…and Another…

  1. Terje says:

    Your first two sentences are like from my life. I can feel the energy and enjoyment of reading in your slice. Happy Reading!

  2. arjeha says:

    My chair is surrounded by books _ actually a l books as well as my Kindle books. I love free books from book bub because I have head books I most likely would not have read otherwise.

  3. Ramona says:

    Gossamer is one of my favorite Lois Lowry titles, also love Crow Call and of course, Number the Stars. Enjoy the Willoughbys, also a favorite! I think I’ll look for Looking Back.

  4. Pingback: Some of My Favorite Writing from 2015 | newtreemom

Leave a Reply

