I Know I Had a Great Idea

Take a lesson from me. Write it down! I know a couple of days ago I had the perfect idea for this week’s slice. I wrote it in my head. I know I did. But I didn’t write it in my notebook. I didn’t write it on a scrap of paper. I just thought about it. Now I can’t remember it. Not one word. Not a ghost of an idea what it was. So I am stuck. I can’t come up with a new idea. My mind keeps trying to resurrect whatever that other idea was. Because it was perfect.

If you find it, let me know…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Know I Had a Great Idea

  1. bevbaird says:

    Oh I can so relate. I keep a pad of paper by my bedside as I know that if I don’t write an idea down, it will be gone by morning. And yet, I still don’t do it every time. Ugh! I’ll keep an eye out for it! lol

  2. arjeha says:

    I, too, have had this happen so many times you would think I would learn. I haven’t. I just bet that all of those lost ideas are in the same land where all those missing socks that the washers eat live. What a time they must be having.

  3. But instead, you crafted a piece that shows without telling your frustration. Great craft move! And I know that other idea will return. SO buy a purse big enough to hold a notebook and pens and be ready!!

  4. Donna Smith says:

    This is something I really hate. Not the post, but the ideas that go skipping away – like we are going to remember them! And you can’t even put up a “Wanted” poster – who can remember what it even LOOKED like? Sorry for your loss! Been there. Done that.

  5. elsie says:

    What a terrible thing to lose! I bet one day it will come back when something triggers that memory. This time you will jot a note to remind you.

  6. Leigh Anne says:

    Oh this sounds so familiar! I am terrible at writing things down when I think of them…but that makes me great at forgetting them! I hope you find it soon!

  7. LSquared says:

    Yes, that thing about “if it’s important, you’ll remember it” is simply not true. I have various half-filled journals trying to stay near me when I do have an idea. I’ve heard of people who even get out of bed in the nighttime to jot something down if a great thought occurs to them.
    I really need to work on the random note taking. I have to believe my ideas are valuable. (I don’t believe I do).
    Then, how to retrieve them?

  8. Pingback: Some of My Favorite Writing from 2015 | newtreemom

Leave a Reply

