Some of My Favorite Writing from 2015

Year-end is a good time to reflect and remember before moving into all the newness of the next year. I looked back over my slices to find some of my favorites. So here are a few lines and reflections about them:

From Spring Breezes

setting the leaves
aflutter
like the wings
of a thousand
emerald butterflies

is my favorite simile.

Reading is a huge slice of my life. I like reading posts from other slicers about their book discoveries. This is a slice I wrote about a phase of my reading this year after I found a memoir by a favorite author.

Here are a couple of reflections on the same scene: Out My Window and Out My Window Again. This is one of the great things about the March challenge: writing every day gives us the opportunity to explore more deeply and develop themes.

Several times throughout the year, I wrote about my mother and how I miss her. This is one of the poems. I also wrote about some of her things that I kept.

My daughter is another frequent subject of my writing. This is a poem inspired by one of her visits home from college.

Writing has become another slice of my life since first joining the March Challenge on TWT in 2012 and continuing with SOLSC year round. These are a couple of slices reflecting on writing. One is a warning and the other more of a gentle reminder.

Hope you enjoy going down memory lane with me… and that it inspires you to stroll back through your writing from the year.

This entry was posted in reflections, Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Some of My Favorite Writing from 2015

  1. arjeha says:

    It is great to look back and reflect on the year that is ending as a new one is about to begin. Wishing you a wonderful and Happy 2016.

  2. Lori Sheroan says:

    I definitely needed this reminder to reflect on my writing. Last year, I made a commitment to myself that I would write regularly; and I managed to do so from February through October. Then, I slacked off; I’m back again, but I plan to do just what you suggested and revisit my posts as a reminder of how important it is for me to keep writing. I always enjoy reading your posts! Thank you!

  3. jarhartz says:

    Thank you for the round up of writing. I loved popping about your posts. Lovely, lovely writing. Thank you, thank you!

  4. franmcveigh says:

    What a great reflection! I had thought of this but could not identify criteria for my choices (or a defense for why this one and not that one) so I dropped that idea. I put it on my list for the March challenge!

    I love the thinking behind your choices!

  5. Terje says:

    Isn’t it amazing how much our writing really tells about us and about what mattered to us in one year? Some themes surface more than others. Happy Writing for 2016! Lets try to catch the words on paper before they slip away.

  6. Leigh Anne says:

    I loved reading your poetry this year. There were so many that I marked as mentors and “tried” to imitate. Thank you for sharing your words with us.

Leave a Reply

