HOME

My OLW came to me when I wasn’t even thinking about it. I have tried OLW before but the word didn’t stick with me through the whole year, so I wasn’t convinced I would choose a word this time. I do like the idea, though, and maybe I was thinking about it more than I realized. So I am starting the year with my word, and I will see where it takes me.

The word that is on my heart and mind is HOME. It started with the thought that I need to do some heavy-duty cleaning in my house to make it the welcoming HOME I want to have. There will be some repair/maintenance/updating projects that need to be done throughout the year, too. I will be focusing on my home to prioritize and carry out those projects.

HOME also means hospitality. I want to share my home with others throughout this year. With my daughter graduating from college this year and anxious to get out on her own, I don’t want empty to end up being the word that describes my home. I don’t envision entertaining, but rather homey dinners with friends and family and some fun times together.

HOME will also mean back to basics, getting more in touch with what is important to me. Faith, family and friends. Reading, writing, teaching (and learning, too). Working hard and resting well.

That is a lot for One. Little. Word.

This entry was posted in OLW, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to HOME

  1. Erika Victor says:

    Ah, home- such a tricky word for me. I like what your are doing with your word.

  2. margaretsmn says:

    I so enjoyed my home over the break. I can become somewhat of a hermit if I let myself. Home brings me comfort. I hope you embrace your word and your home as you adjust to the changes in your life. May home be your stronghold.

  3. Terje says:

    Your word is a wonderful one. You have made it caring, welcoming and personal. I hope it brings positive changes.

  4. Linda Baie says:

    It seems like a wonderful word, one to make a foundation for all of your life this next year. I love hearing how you made your focus with it.

  5. arjeha says:

    It is a great word and one that is always there when you look around. As Dorothy said, “There’s no place like home”. Enjoy your word and all that it represents.

  6. hollymueller says:

    HOME is a great word! I love books and movies in which HOME is an essential theme. Our HOMES are so important in our lives – we’re in the process of selling our big house and downsizing since our girls are out of the house, so the concept of what makes a HOME has been on my mind lately. Come to think of it, it would have been a good word for me this year; but alas, I chose another one. Maybe next year…

  7. Dana Murphy says:

    It’s a beautiful word. I have a feeling it will impact your life in beautiful ways.

  8. Lori Sheroan says:

    I love your word choice! My one little word this year is REMEMBER. Your word made me want to remember all the different homes I’ve loved.

  9. mbhmaine says:

    Home! What a wonderful OLW. “With my daughter graduating from college this year and anxious to get out on her own, I don’t want empty to end up being the word that describes my home.” As a new empty-nester, these words resonate with me and I like how you’re taking charge and actively working to keep your home warm, loving and nurturing.

  10. Leigh Anne says:

    With my kids being older too, home sure takes on a different meaning doesn’t it?

  11. Tara Smith says:

    I love this part: back to basics, getting more in touch with what is important. So well chosen!

Leave a Reply

