A List Before It’s Too Late

Like a fellow slicer said, a list is better than not writing, especially when it’s getting late on Slice of Life Tuesday. So here it is:

Winter finally came home over the weekend. When we got some cold weather and snow, that’s the thought that came to mind. My OLW making itself heard.

Another thought about the snow- the feathery white tree branches reached out as if presenting a peace offering, an apology for the mess on the roads…

My OLW was speaking loudly this weekend. One thing my word means to me is to use my home to offer hospitality. Sunday one of the verses in our Bible study was “show hospitality to one another without complaining.”

On Friday, a very unexpected moment- as we sat at a table in her classroom, my friend’s chair collapsed beneath her, and in a flash, shockingly, she was flat on her back on the floor. Scary! Thankfully, she was not hurt badly- she was plenty sore, though, and annoyed to have to go for two checkups with the workman’s comp doctor.

I went to see the movie “The Martian” on Saturday (it was 50 degrees and rainy the day before snow arrived)- and Matt Damon won a Golden Globe for his performance in the movie on Sunday.

My daughter headed back to school after winter break. It’s her last semester of college. How could that be?!?!? (This blog started during her senior year of high school as we anticipated her becoming an ISU Sycamore and me becoming a “newtreemom.”)

I’m keeping on with writing, even when I am not sure I have something to write about and especially when I do have something I want to write about.

And that’s my list for today.

This entry was posted in random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A List Before It’s Too Late

  1. Ramona says:

    Enjoyed your list. It’s amazing how quickly those four years of college fly by. Love your reflections about home , your OLW. Wonderful image of those feathery white tree branches reaching out with a peace offering.

  2. LSquared says:

    You wrote a comfortable read. I wonder how this came out of a LIST? I see you went to some recent events…is that what makes it a list? I need every idea and technique I can get to write when I am exhausted and not feeling creative.

    • newtreemom says:

      When I don’t have a definite idea of something I want to write about, sometimes I just try to write a list of things that have been going on. It can turn into “I did this, then I did that”- but somehow it often turns into a reflection of how life is “right now.” It’s not always a reliable technique, but it can get you started, maybe lead you to a moment that is a good slice of life to write about.

Leave a Reply

