Good Night, Good Morning

As I headed home
The moon hid behind
A veil of clouds
Spreading a gentle glow
Over the night…
“Good night, rest well”
I thought I heard it whisper

As I headed to work
The moon hung
In the clearing sky
Shining brightly
Over the morning…
“Good morning, rejoice in the day”
I thought I heard it greet me

This entry was posted in poems, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Good Night, Good Morning

  1. lisaorchard1 says:

    Great poem! I love it. 🙂 Thanks for sharing it with all of us.

  2. Lori Sheroan says:

    I especially enjoyed the idea of the moon, not only whispering at night…but still lingering in the early morning hours to greet a friend. I will listen more closely to the moon after reading this lovely poem!

  3. arjeha says:

    Love that the moon was there to end your day and greet you the next morning.

  4. The moon is a favorite image that lets me reflect on life. Your poem is a lovely one for children to read and create their own versions. Thanks for sharing. It seems you and I had the same idea: to write about the moon.

  5. Linda Baie says:

    I love those night and morning greetings too. It rises for me, and there it is in the am, although I’m not often out, just see it out my window. Lovely!

  6. elsie says:

    Love the message of the moon, but shouldn’t you get home before the moon comes out? 🙂

  7. jehansen13 says:

    I like how you started both stanzas in a similar way!

  8. Raivenne says:

    I really enjoyed this, lovely.

  9. Kimberly says:

    The moon represents the power and strength of nature for me. I try to make a point to check it out most evenings, so I loved reading your piece today.

  10. Kimberly says:

    The moon is such a powerful image and your poem captures its’ importance in our in daily rituals.

Leave a Reply

