The Wedding Shower

“Oh, it’s my colander!” she squealed. “Look, my Fiesta pitcher!” As my niece opened gifts at her wedding shower, she was smiling non-stop, and as she lifted up each ordinary household item she received to be admired, you could see her happiness.

Her young cousins didn’t get it. “Oh, another dishtowel. You sure got a lot of towels.”

The other twenty-somethings were delighted with the “bride and groom voo-doo dolls,” howling with laughter over them.

But us “mature women,” the bride’s mom, future mother-in-law, grandma, and aunts, all brides once ourselves, we got it. That glow of happiness, that delight in measuring cups and casserole dishes, is anticipation of the future. Small pieces of the beginning of her own home, her own family. A dream coming true. The love of family and friends surrounding her and wishing her well. Hope and confidence in the joys of life to come.

It will be a day to remember, a feeling to hold on to and to share through the years.

Best wishes, our dear girl!

This entry was posted in home and family, SOLSC 2016, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Wedding Shower

  1. Mandy says:

    Weddings are such a fun time! My cousin is getting married this weekend. I sat with my 3 year old niece watching her open wedding presents at a shower a few weeks ago. I absolutely can not imagine this sweet, 3 year old getting married. Time goes so quickly!!! Enjoy the moments!!

  2. Leigh Anne says:

    Since I eloped, I never had a bridal shower. But I did have a baby shower and I remember it being so much fun. It is such a special time when the women of the family come together to share and bless life moments.

  3. arjeha says:

    What an exciting time. Wishing her the best.

  4. elsie says:

    How funny that the younger cousins couldn’t relate to the bride’s joy for mundane items. I still have many of those gifts thirty-eight years later.

  5. I love wedding showers and baby showers. Both are filled with hope, laughter, and love.

  6. Lori Kidder says:

    I still recall, 33 years later who gave me certain gifts. It’s as if the love is still there.

  7. Ashley says:

    I am in the midst of planning my future sister-in-law’s shower, so I anticipate much grinning and oohing and ahhing!

  8. b says:

    I loved how you so masterfully used a pronoun shift to unveil the subtext. 🙂
    Yes — you’re right — the ‘things’ are so much more than ‘things’ for a young bride — they’re stand-ins for all her future adventures…

  9. debbussewitz says:

    With few words you created a poignant scene that connects you to the new bride. So lovely.

Leave a Reply

