Heard Any Good Lines Lately?

Listening to the radio on my drive to school one morning, I heard the morning crew asking callers with grown children to call in and talk about the things they missed from the time when their children were small. I heard several sweet “slice of life” moments between songs (my drive is about 35 minutes). Some would choke up as they were talking. Then a caller came on and along with his story, provided a quote that would be great in developing a character- “Why’d you have to go making my head leak?”

This noticing and collecting words here and there comes with writing, doesn’t it? Before SOLSC, I might have noticed these words, but I never would have thought about writing it down because it could be a great line for a character in a story I might someday write.

Do words jump out at you sometimes? Heard any good lines lately?

This entry was posted in SOLSC 2016, Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Heard Any Good Lines Lately?

  1. There is a radio show I listen to on the way to work that always inspires with with fodder for writing, too. Love it when that happens. Your chosen words that got stuck in your head reminded me of some words I read in a book awhile back, also describing tears. I wrote them down to use in my writing –
    “Tears stood in her eyes.”
    Wow. How many times have we seen that?
    I love when words move me like that.

  2. Deborah says:

    I feel like I do hear great lines in the most unexpected places usually. I love the idea of writing them down and using them. It’s like “found” dialogue or taking a slice of someone else’s life and making recycled art with it. Thanks for the idea!

  3. Mandy Robek says:

    What a great idea – I love the idea of lines others say. I’ve worked with my students and had them collect words but not lines. Happy Writing.

  4. JulieK says:

    I collect them on any scrap of paper when I hear them. I try to make sure they make it into my journal.

  5. I love noticing those moments, but I’m terrible at recording them! That is one of my resolutions, but so far I haven’t found an easy way to do it. Great idea–and your post makes me think I should listen to the radio more often as well!

  6. Carol T says:

    Great idea – but how to do record them so that you don’t lose them?

  7. Brooke Kinsman says:

    I have always noticed little sayings, but I have never been a collector of them. I am thinking about making a working word wall where my students and I add these awesome sayings continuously!

  8. mgminer says:

    I have notes in Evernote; notes in Notes; post-its everywhere; notes in margins; and notes in journals. Will I ever get them all in one place? That’s the problem:)

  9. Leigh Anne says:

    What a great line! I am sure that was a huge quantity of slices!

Leave a Reply

