Cutie

Oh, cutie, you’re so sweet
Bright and round,
Appealing to the eyes-
Smelling so fresh,
So easy to peel.

Bite-size bits of sweetness
Wait inside with just
A hint of tartness
Only 80 calories
In all.

Could there be
a more perfect
snack than your
burst of
sunshine?

This entry was posted in poems, SOLSC 2016. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cutie

  1. C.Crouch says:

    You covered all of the senses with this little cutie! I, too, love my cuties (thankfully so do the kids!)

  2. Adrienne says:

    I wasn’t expecting the cutie to be a Cutie! I thought it would be a small child or new pet.This was great.

  3. Rita K. says:

    Clever, well-written ode to this delicious fruit. Now I’ve got to have one!

  4. mgminer says:

    You made my mouth water.

  5. elsie says:

    I’ve just eaten my two Cuties for the day. They are a bit of sunshine.

  6. Morgan says:

    You’re first line made me think “Oh, Mickey, you’re so fine,” so when the second line cut from the popular verse, I had to pause and start again, finding your free verse rhythm, which I much prefer!

  7. Lori Sheroan says:

    What a fun “slice!” I love cuties, too.

Leave a Reply

