I Tried!

Yesterday I was planning to write my slice after I went out to dinner with my sister and my niece and her family. I knew my 18 month old great-nephew would be sure to provide a good moment to write about. After all, his mom and dad call him their “Home Entertainment Center.” He did not disappoint. He is just so doggone cute.

Like many toddlers, he thinks things falling off the table (or being thrown off) is pretty hilarious. His laughter is so contagious, it is hard to keep a straight face as his mom corrects him, especially when he crosses his arms on the table and lays his head down to show how sorry he is. Then he changed his routine. He casually tossed a piece of bread toward his mom when she was distracted. He put his hands out, palms up, and shrugged his shoulders as if to say, “What??? It wasn’t me. I don’t know how that happened.” As soon as Mom looked his way, down went his head on his crossed arms. He looked so contrite, that is, he did until his merry little eyes peeked out, and his aunt just really could not keep from laughing out loud.

So it would have been a perfect slice to write (so would many other funny moments he and his big brother provided as we shared dinner together). But as we were finishing dinner, my sister and I decided to take big brother to the movies. We went to see Big Fat Greek Wedding 2- the 9:50 showing. It is a fun movie, and we had a great time, sitting on the front row, as my nephew always insists. It wasn’t until I got in the car to head home that I noticed the clock. It was approaching midnight! I hadn’t written my slice yet.

I got out my phone and wrote a very quick slice, and got it posted to my blog. I tried to link up to TWT, but since I haven’t used my phone for slicing before, I couldn’t figure it out. I missed the midnight deadline!

So there you have it, that’s how I missed a day of the challenge (although one slicer found the little slice I posted last night and commented). As she said, sometimes writing takes a backseat to family. But when we give that time to family, we end up with so many priceless slice of life moments…precious whether we get to preserve them in writing or just keep them in our heart.

This entry was posted in home and family, SOLSC 2016, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Tried!

  1. Donna Smith says:

    A couple of times this week and last it has been difficult to take a slice of time from the day! It sure isn’t always easy. Glad you had some precious family times!

  2. arjeha says:

    I have a great nephew that just turned one. They do odder much to write about at this age. And yes, family does come first.

  3. Ramona says:

    Such a fun slice! Your descriptions of him are priceless – what a gift this slice will be for him to read when he’s grown. Glad you had fun with family!

  4. elsie says:

    Fun times with families, especially when there’s a toddler involved, has to trump getting a slice in by the deadline. The little one is definitely an entertainment center.

  5. Adrienne says:

    What a fun age. I remember playing hide & seek with my youngest niece when she was around that age. Oh, how we laughed.

Leave a Reply

