Stuck

She sat in the room, waiting. She heard a light knock, then the doctor stepped in. Smiling, she asked, “What brings you in today?”

My friend answered, “I got stuck in a sports bra.”

The doctor laughed and said, “That’a the funniest answer I’ve ever heard here. Tell me about it.”

It happened like this. The day before, my friend and I met for lunch and a little shopping. I got a new spring top, and she found a necklace for her niece’s graduation. We were leaving when a display of sports clothing caught her eye. She said she needed a new sports bra to wear when she does the Mini in May (the half-marathon that is part of the Indianapolis 500 Festival). So she picked out a couple and took some different sizes to try on. I sat on a bench near the door to wait while she headed back to the dressing room.

I got my Kindle out to read while I waited. I noticed I had read quite a lot and was surprised it was taking so long. But in a few more minutes, she showed up. I told her I was beginning to wonder if she got lost in the dressing room. She said no, but she got stuck. She put one of the sports bras on and when she started to take it off, her arm hurt so bad, she couldn’t get it off. For several minutes, she was held hostage by the bra as she struggled to pull it over her head.

The doctor said she had somehow strained the triceps muscle and ordered physical therapy. Who knew the dressing room could be hazardous to your health, not just your wallet?

This entry was posted in SOLSC 2016, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stuck

  1. MAK says:

    That is hilarious!!! What a great story to be able to share! I have a friend whose shoulder dislocates at the drop of a hat – literally. She has so many stories of simple things that turned into ER visits. Hopefully this is it for your friend!

  2. I am so sorry for your friend. But, what a funny story. Was it hard not to laugh?
    xo
    Pamela

  3. Wendy says:

    I have a touchy trapezius muscle, so I feel for your friend! Makes a great story though.

  4. Ramona says:

    Yikes! Adding dressing rooms to my list of possible hazards (which grows as I age)! But since I don’t do any exercise that’s serious enough to require a sports bra, perhaps I’m safe.

  5. elsie says:

    I’ve had a few moments where I was not sure I could pull the top off I was trying on. It’s not a good feeling! I can’t imagine pulling a muscle though. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

