Another Week to Celebrate

Last Saturday, I wrote about the shopping trip I was looking forward to with my daughter…for her wedding dress. And she did say “Yes to the dress!” When I went back to school Monday after Spring Break, it was so much fun to pull my phone out over and over to show off the pictures. I wrote about finding her dress here. It was a wonderful time I will always cherish.

Now, here are a few other moments to celebrate from this week:

My director said “Yes”- funds are available. I will be registering for AllWrite this year! I have hoped to go every summer for several years now, but there has always been some conflict with the date or other reasons that kept me from going. But this summer, I will be there! Yay!

I watched some sessions from the EdCollab Gathering(although I didn’t participate live, since I was busy watching my daughter try on wedding dresses, as I mentioned before!). I tried out an idea in a lesson with sixth graders this week, and it went over very well. These particular sixth graders are tough cookies, too. (The workshop is Re-energizing Struggling Learners and the idea,”Fun with Multiple Meaning words:Riddle Creation” came from Mollie Cura (starting at about minute 9:30 in the video). Try it, you’ll like it.

It is difficult, but you still can’t help being happy for a colleague you love who gets a chance to move away from your school when it is a move that would be so great for her and her family. That was Thursday’s celebration. This teacher was new to our school this year, but we share a classroom. All year, her 35+ minute commute has been a constant struggle, with a 1 year-old and a 5 year-old to get up and ready in the mornings to arrive at school by 7:30 (we run on an early schedule for elementary) and she has been hoping to find an opening in the district where she lives and where her son is a student, with a 5-10 minute drive, no freeway. She got the call for an interview Thursday! She is so thrilled, and so I felt happy for her, too.

Yesterday after school, I drove over to my second sister’s to meet her and go out for dinner. Not a special occasion, just an ordinary sister get-together- we do it often, going out to eat, taking in a movie or a little shopping, or staying in for a movie night at home. Am I blessed to have two sister who are friends, or what? (My other sister lives a little farther away, so we get together a little less often, but I still enjoy times together with her, too. She was in on last week’s shopping extravaganza.) Last night, my sister and I went to a Mexican restaurant. The real highlight, of course, is all the talk. But running a close second was the dessert we had- sopapillas, the real ones, puffy and light. They were sprinkled with powdered sugar and accompanied with a sweet buttery sauce- oh, so good. And brought a memory celebration to the table for me, as I recalled having that very treat years ago with my husband when we lived in New Mexico. I had never heard of sopapillas, but quickly came to love the puffy triangles. Yum- pure heaven to bite off a corner and drizzle honey inside and then savor the sweetness!

So there are some celebration moments from this week- enough to make the first days back to school after break go well!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Week to Celebrate

  1. Bernadette says:

    Sounds like a great week and to be finally able to attend the conference is wonderful.

  2. hollymueller says:

    Sounds like a wonderful week! Wedding dress shopping and success is such a wonderful occasion! I got to do that last year. đŸ™‚ I’m still debating about AllWrite – I’ve never gone, and I’d like to!

  3. elsie says:

    So many celebrations in a week! Yay to All Write! You will have to find me, just look for Ruth and I won’t be far away. Those sopapillas sound heavenly, now my stomach is rumbling.

  4. Ramona says:

    So excited that you get to attend All Write this year. It’s such a treat! I’m sad that I won’t be there to meet you. Love your happy evening with your sister. I wish my sis and I could get together more often. We still have a fave Mexican restaurant on our must visit list before I go home next week. Love sopapillas too!

Leave a Reply

