A Funny Little Celebration

On “Crazy Hair Day” this week, I streaked my hair with electric blue. The celebration? The kids loved it, and I was the recipient of a lot of smiles. Even the staff had smiles for me (except for the ones who had stories of woe about “temporary” hair color that turned out to be almost permanent). After school, I had a PD session. People seemed uncertain whether to smile or smirk, until I smiled and said, “Crazy Hair Day.” Then they smiled.

At home, I took a picture with my phone and sent it to my family and a few friends. I collected more smiles from the responses…
My daughter: Omg…hahaha that’s perfect!
My son: Lol nice
My sister: I’ve always wanted to have blue hair…who would have ever thought you would
instead of me!!
My brother: Wow
Friend: You look like some rockstar in a girlband! Well played!

I think that last comment (from my friend who is also a teacher) was my favorite…other than the looks of surprise from some of the kids at school. Doing something just a little out of the ordinary (translate: out of your comfort zone) can lead to unexpected happy moments…and a funny little celebration!

Blue Hair

So, let me know what you think.

P.S. Not to worry, it washed right out!

This entry was posted in celebrations, school. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Funny Little Celebration

  1. Terje says:

    Daring and fun. Cheering to you!

  2. Linda Baie says:

    How adventurous you are, and it looks great! I like the color of the blue, too! Sounds like you received mostly good responses!

  3. Ramona says:

    What fun! It reminds me when I end up heading to the grocery store or the library on PJ day. I always have to explain my attire. Kudos to you for stepping out of that comfort zone (and I’m glad it washed right out).

  4. crbrunelle says:

    I have often thought of trying a streak of color, but have been too chicken. You look amazing and it seems that though it was a bit risky, it was super fun. I’m glad you shared this. Maybe next crazy hair day I’ll be bold too. šŸ™‚

  5. Bernadette says:

    I say rock on girlfriend!

  6. cvarsalona says:

    You went for the look! Wow! That is an out-of-the-box move!

Leave a Reply

