Maybe

A friend shared with me that her kindergarten son came home talking about “the test” he had to take that day. He described how they had to color in the little circle by the answer. He said his teacher said they would have another one the next day. He said, “I didn’t like it. I don’t want to do it again.”

Later, my friend was talking about her son again. She said, “He’s been so whiny lately, and I just don’t know why.”

I looked at her and started, “Maybe…

And she joined in, “…it’s the test.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Maybe

  1. Ramona says:

    Yep! That’s it!

    • newtreemom says:

      We see it in the behavior of our 3rd-6th graders who are taking our state assessment right now. Ranging from nerves to boredom to anger to almost despair, we see it all.

  2. elsie says:

    In kindergarten?! That should be a crime!

    • newtreemom says:

      Exactly what I think. Since my friend and I both in the middle of state testing at school ourselves, we know it is not the “real” test (it starts at 3rd grade- still too young), but we don’t know why there is any test at all like that in kindergarten. She has been concerned already because her son who loved preschool is not that happy with kindergarten. The good news is that at home he loves to read!

  3. Tara Smith says:

    In kindergarten?! Good grief…what has the world come to?

  4. arjeha says:

    Someone needs to have their head examined. Kindergarten testing? Good grief.

  5. Leigh Anne Eck says:

    I started to write how this breaks my heart, but I really need to say it crushes it. Oh my. Good luck with your testing? Three more days for us!

  6. Imagine bad words coming out of my mouth right now. Can parents ask to have their kids exempt? I agree with arjeha – this kind of testing is mostly stupid anyway, but doing this to k’s is cruelty.

  7. Lori Sheroan says:

    Oh my – that is really horrible for the little guy. It’s so frustrating; but I don’t see the trend changing any time soon.

  8. macrush53 says:

    Ugh. How sad!

Leave a Reply

