Catching Up on Celebrations

Last Saturday, the day was a celebration- my niece’s wedding. What a sweet family time! Beautiful young and happy couple, my brother the proud father of the bride (and two of the bridesmaids), my month-old great-nephew at his first major family outing, and a sweet and simple ceremony and reception.

I am celebrating some new favorite words. At Just for a Month by Terje, she wrote about “birdsingy” days. Since reading that word, I have heard birds tweeting and chirping many mornings when I first wake up, and that is the word that pops into my mind. Birdsingy days! Doesn’t that just make you smile?

The word “woodnote” appeared in my inbox as the word of the day. A woodnote is a natural musical tone like that of a forest bird. I love that word. It makes me want to go hiking in the woods!

We had a very successful family game night at school- lots of kids, moms, dads, and even grandparents playing together. Of course, there was popcorn all over the floor, not to mention fruit punch spills, but there were a lot more smiles. I played the dot to dot game where you make boxes on a grid with a fifth grader who had never played it before. He was all swagger until it started getting hard to find easy moves! Then he was sweating bullets!

Going to be spending time with a friend today. So all around, it’s a good day to celebrate!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Catching Up on Celebrations

  1. Ruth Ayres says:

    I love your celebration of new words! Your celebrations bring joy and make me smile. I’m glad you took the time to collect them.
    Ruth

  2. Celebrating new words-I instantly heard what they might sound like! I know how birdsingy the birds sound as my eyes slowly adjust to the dawn of a new day. I can imagine how the woodnote tones echo through the forest, celebrating or warning the twitter of life. Quite a collection of joy today!

  3. Linda Baie says:

    The family wedding sounds lovely, and I, like Ruth & Amy, love that celebration of words. “Woodnote” is great, as is “birdsingy”. It sounds like a wonderful week!

  4. Tara Smith says:

    New words and the start of a new life together for someone you love – great things to celebrate!

  5. elsie says:

    I love the range of celebrations everyone brings to Saturday. Each one puts a smile on my face as I read. Who would not love a wedding and a school family night brought to life in the same post? Celebrate on!

  6. Ramona says:

    Weddings, family time, and birdsingy days! Wonderful celebrations. And a family game night at your school – love it!

  7. Words are wonderful things to celebrate. Finding new ways to express ourselves are great.

  8. Crystal says:

    I enjoy those favorite words too – especially birdsingy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

