A Little List of Celebrations

Here’s a random list of little (and maybe a big one or two) things to celebrate:

1. Although we still have two more weeks of school, this is a 4-day weekend! We had yesterday off and will be off with the rest of the country for Memorial Day on Monday.

2. I had a great time with my second sister yesterday. We took her 92-year old momma out for lunch- yum, strawberry shortcake at MCL Cafeteria. After we took momma back home, then we went to the dollar theater to see “My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2” for the second time. It’s not a classic or anything, but we did laugh just as much as the first time.

3. My daughter’s fiance has a birthday this weekend. We met with a bunch of family and friends last night for a birthday dinner. My daughter paid for my dinner. Wow. A new occurrence- that was the second time this month.

4. Thursday at school I went on the annual bowling field trip with the 4th-6th graders sponsored by our P.E. teacher. Everyone had a good time, and we received compliments from the bowling center staff on the behavior of our students. The bowling scores ranged from 11 to 128. 🙂

5. Excitement is in the air in our city this weekend as we anticipate the 100th running of the Indy 500! I grew up with Memorial Day picnics with a sound track of the race on the radio. My high school band got to march in the parade one year. I have been out to the track a few times through the years, though never on race day. My school is only a couple of miles from the track, and all throughout May, we hear the whine of the engines during practice days. Even though I am not a true race fan, you can’t help feeling the excitement in May and indulging in some home-town pride.

There are moments big and small worthy of celebrating that happen every day. Pausing to write about some of them feels good!

I am looking forward to being at AllWrite for the first time this year! Hope to meet some of you there!

This entry was posted in celebrations. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Little List of Celebrations

  1. Terje says:

    Sometimes random lists are the best. They show how varied our lives are and how many different aspects we can celebrate. Enjoy the exciting weekend!

  2. Leigh Anne Eck says:

    I completely understand the excitement of the 500! I have many special memories of family gatherings and watching the race! I will be going to All Write too! We will have to connect!

  3. elsie says:

    So much family surrounds you in your celebrations, that is always worth celebrating. I hope you find me at All Write! If you are staying at the Wyndham, you will probably find a bunch of the slicers in the courtyard patio laughing and talking Wednesday and Thursday evening. See you soon!

  4. The biggest, BEST celebration(for me)came at the end when I read(really, really please be true)that you will be at All Write this year!! It will be such a pleasure to meet you face to face! I will be hanging out with elsie and others. Less than a month…😃

    • newtreemom says:

      I am so excited about All Write! I have wanted to go every year for so long and even though I am closer than many slicers like you who have been there, seemed like it just never fell into place. But this year I will finally be there! So looking forward to meeting you!

  5. Tara Smith says:

    So jealous that you will be at All Write! Looking forward to those posts!

  6. cvarsalona says:

    I hope you and the other Celebration bloggers who attend All Write will have a wonderful time networking, learning, and writing. Enjoy more celebrations during the holiday weekend.

  7. Such great celebrations this week — both big and small! I’ll be at All Write next month too!

  8. Ramona says:

    Thrilled that you’ll be at All Write with so many slicer friends. I’ll be watching for posts from Warsaw and sharing in the fun from afar this year. We have a four day weekend too! It’s nice this time of year to have a bit of breathing space in the end-of-school madness.

Leave a Reply

