Happy Birthday, America!

* I am cooking a pot of fresh green beans and red potatoes in Mom’s Dutch oven
* I have red, white, and blue Skittles and M&Ms to set out in little bowls
* I am making “sparklers”- Twizzlers dipped in while chocolate and red. white, and blue sprinkles
* I am chopping tomatoes, onion, jalapeno, and cilantro, squeezing in some lime juice, and shaking in a dash of salt to make fresh salsa
* I am baking a cake with blue icing and tiny fish-shaped sprinkles
* My sister is preparing a fresh fruit tray with watermelon, strawberries, blueberries, and pineapple
* My sister-in-law is baking her famous mac and cheese and making a big bowl of her famous cucumbers and onions
* My brother will grill hamburgers and hot dogs
* We’ll be at my brother and sister-in-law’s house at the lake- 16 of us, from 3 months to 63 years- and 4 dogs
* My brother will race us around the lake in the boat wearing his captain’s hat
* The “kids” will zip around on the jet ski, ride the tube behind the boat, and swim
* The “grown-ups” will lounge around on the back porch and take turns holding the baby and laughing with the toddler (he’s a happy little guy) while talking, talking, talking
* We’ll all eat- a lot
* As it is getting dark, my brother will take us on a moonlight cruise on the boat

An All-American Celebration of this country we love!

This entry was posted in celebrations, home and family. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Birthday, America!

  1. Sounds like a lot of fun on tap for America’s Birthday! Enjoy (especially all the yummy food)! I made a firecracker cake and red, white and blue mnms cookies for our celebration. We are heading over to our friends later.

  2. This sounds like a perfect way to usher in the fourth of July! What fun traditions! I’m hungry after reading your post! 🙂

  3. As you described the careful preparation even my anticipation of a joyful family celebration rose! What a lovely tribute to the best of celebrating the 4th of July!

  4. Love this post and feel like I am there! Enjoy your 4th!

  5. Ramona says:

    What fun to anticipate this special time with family! When my daughter and I saw the red, white, and blue Skittles, I remarked that one of my blogger friends had mentioned them in her post. Love how all my blogger friends pop up in my life and conversations!

  6. Linda Baie says:

    Sounds like a really awesome time, and it is truly an All-American celebration. Wish I was closer!

  7. Julieanne says:

    What a great celebration plan! Food and family, it can’t get better. Love the Twizzler sparklers!

  8. cvarsalona says:

    Sounds great. I have been preparing too for America’s neighborhood feast. Yesterday, I brought what I call American Dream cookies: chocolate chip ice cream sandwiches and blue and red cookies. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

