Will She Show Up Again?

We writers never know where ideas will pop up. It was just an ordinary day. I was driving home after my annual eye exam. A light turned red, and I stopped. I glanced into my rearview mirror. What a sight! The lady in the SUV behind me had quite a collection wobbling and waving all across her dashboard. Holidays and cartoon characters were well-represented, along with flowers and animals, all activated by the sunshine. There must have been 50 of those solar-powered figurines wiggling and jiggling around. I wondered how the driver kept from being distracted as she was driving around with all that motion right in front of her. I wondered how many other drivers got distracted. I wondered what drove her to collect them all. Did she collect them all herself? Did a child in her family get the first one, and then the whole family started giving her more and more? She looked happy- she had a big smile, and she was bobbing her head. And I thought, she could be a character in a story! I don’t know what the story is yet, but I wonder- Will she show up again?

Solar Daisy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Will She Show Up Again?

  1. Adrienne says:

    One March, I was stopped at a stoplight and realized there was De Lorean right in front of me! The license plate was FLUXN.I snapped a picture just to prove it and later, I wrote a Slice about it. It is truly amazing what we see when we drive.

    • newtreemom says:

      License plates can yield great ideas! Funniest one I remember (I wrote a slice, too) was on a Smart car, just below the “Smart” emblem…it said “Aleck.” Made me laugh out loud.

  2. Peg D says:

    Stories truly are every where aren’t they? 😀 I know I would be distracted. But then I don’t know how people drive with dogs in their laps either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

