Celebrating Anticipation

I’ve been waiting, hoping, wondering when it would show up. As the days of summer break dwindled “like sand in the hourglass,” my thoughts began to turn to the new school year. But I was feeling the ending of summer more than anything. Now, at last, waking up this morning, I had that tingle of anticipation when I thought of the days of preparation this coming week leading up the to the August 1 return of our students.

I will “get my toes wet” Monday with a short training on a new computer program the district has adopted this year and a visit to school just to check out my classroom and see who else is hanging out at school getting ready. Tuesday, I’ll spend the day with my ESL “tribe” at our beginning of the year Professional Development. I am excited about this because I get to share what I learned at All Write this summer! I will lead all my teacher friends in “The Good Old Days” writing activity that Ralph Fletcher led all of us to do in the auditorium at Warsaw. I will urge them to become teachers who write and share how much that one choice has impacted me and my teaching.

On Wednesday through Friday, I will be with my colleagues at Ernie Pyle Elementary School as we meet and plan and become a team. We have many new staff members this year, so these days will be crucial. Friday morning we will attend our District Convocation at the State Fairgrounds. Every teacher, administrator, and staff member in the district will be coming together in this rally for the beginning of the year. And on Wednesday through Friday, we will be spending every minute possible making sure our rooms are set up for a great start to the new year. And sneaking in time to have lunch together and just talk with our friends, our co-workers.

The purpose of it all, of course, is to be ready and excited as students come to the first day of school. Don’t you love that day? Greeting the returning students and hearing the stories of summer…welcoming the new students and assuring them they have come to the best school ever…meeting parents. Kids dressed their best…sharp, new pencils and crayons, new folders and notebooks, and new books. Reading and writing, talking and learning…doing school together.

Happy Back to School, everyone!

This entry was posted in celebrations, school. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Celebrating Anticipation

  1. Happy Back to School to you! I hear the joy and anticipation in your words! It’s going to be a good year!

  2. Ramona says:

    It’s hard to believe that you head back to school so soon (especially since we didn’t finish until June 23rd this year). But I love the anticipation you’ve captured in this post. I celebrate educators like you who come back ready to share and learn together. Here’s to a wonderful week and a fabulous sharing of your time at All Write with your colleagues!

  3. I have an extra week and then back to work for me, too! Our kids start on a Friday this year😊which is odd but the more I think about it the more I like it. The summer always flies by but I am well rested. It is exciting and that is why we continue to teach! I took a peek at my new class list and started praying for my new crew! This is the most essential element of preparing for me. Happy teaching! How great that you are using what you learned at All Write! I was so happy to meet you face to face there!

    • newtreemom says:

      I was thrilled to meet you, and I hope you will be at All Write again next summer! It has been a restful summer. I love hearing that you are already praying for your new class. (Have you ever read any of the Yada Yada prayer group novels by Neta Jackson? One character is a teacher and she always looks up the meaning of the kids’ names and prays for them.) You are right that the prayer is the most essential preparation. Have a good first Friday and a good year!

  4. It’s great to have things to look forward to. I think that’s why I like to plan things so far ahead.

  5. Tara Smith says:

    Happy back to school to you!!! You sound ready!

  6. Mandy Robek says:

    Your words – like sand in the hour glass, really made me stop and think about savoring the last three weeks here and get ready for school.

    • newtreemom says:

      The words do capture that feeling of how quickly time sometimes slips by…but I can’t claim them. They actually are the tag line of a TV show (a soap opera- I feel a little embarrassed to admit!)…just goes to show we can find words anywhere- the effect depends on how we use them and the context we put them in.

  7. Linda Baie says:

    Happy getting back to you, Diane! Wow, it seems early, but I know that everyone starts at different times. Best wishes. Your anticipation shows such excitement.

  8. cvarsalona says:

    August 1st is so early to think about the opening of school for us here on Long Island but anticipation has such a positive tone in your post. Best of luck as your year begins.

Leave a Reply

