They’re Here Again

I drove over to spend a little time with my sister today. Later this week, she is going on vacation with her daughter and son-in-law and two grandsons- a first trip to the beach and to Disney World for the boys- a dream of a vacation for all of them. I am on fall break for two weeks, and I will be going on a trip for a few days with a team from my school.

It was an ordinary visit. We did a little shopping. We had dinner at a steakhouse (got in on the early diner discount!). We watched a movie back at her house. I hugged her goodbye, wished her a happy vacation, and opened the door to head home.

As I stepped out on the porch, I happened to look up in a tree. There was a bright red cardinal sitting on a high branch. I opened the door and stuck my head back in to announce it, and said ‘bye again. I looked back up and this time, along with the red cardinal, I saw its mate hidden in another branch. I opened the door again. “It’s partner is there, too,” I reported.

“Of course it is,” my sister said. Since our parents both passed away, it seems like a little visit from them every time we see a pair of cardinals. Guess they came by to wish us both good travels.

This entry was posted in home and family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to They’re Here Again

  1. arjeha says:

    What a lovely way to think of it. Hope you both enjoy your respective vacations.

  2. lindabaie says:

    Oh, this is just sweet, Diane. We don’t have cardinals here in Colorado & I miss them. What a nice thing to see. Happy travels to you!

  3. jehansen13 says:

    That’s a great image to have as you set off on your vacation!

Leave a Reply

