Missing the Window

Do you ever get behind and miss your perfect window in the morning traffic for your drive to work? That’s what happened to me this morning. Actually, it started last night when I lost track of time while working on a project. I got to bed later than usual.It seemed like I had barely closed my eyes when the alarm went off this morning. So I hit the snooze alarm a time or two. I got ready to a chorus in my mind of hurry, hurry, hurry. Get going!

It rained last night, so the roads were wet and shiny. It was still misting- that light, light rain that spots up the windshield, then makes a smeary mess when you flick on the wipers. I knew it wasn’t going to be a great commute. I had to stop for a school bus and wait for an apartment complex of kids to get on. I hit red lights. The on ramp to the freeway was busy, and I had to squeeze in front of a semi. I was behind a sea of red lights that pulsed like waves as the traffic slowed and flowed, slowed and flowed. Going from the third lane in to the second lane in preparation for getting into the exit lane, a car from that outside lane tried to cross from the outside to the inside at the same time with no signal. It was a close call.

Off the freeway and on city streets, it was back to stopping for every red light. It gave me time to notice the flag rippling in the wind and a billboard I like that shows a family’s feet in colorful socks propped in front of a warm fire. For all my inward grumbling, I arrived at school in plenty of time. My drive this morning only took three minutes longer than usual.

Moral of the story: Enjoy your moments, don’t waste them fretting.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Missing the Window

  1. arjeha says:

    Somehow when you feel that you are in a hurry everything works against you. Generally, if I hit the first red light coming into town I am destined to hit them all. This is especially true if I am on my way to a doctor’s appointment or meeting.

  2. elsie says:

    What a drive! However, only three minutes later isn’t bad. I love the way your described the traffic pulsing, and slow and flow. Yup, that’s a great lesson from this morning’s drive.

  3. Adrienne says:

    I could feel your agitation as I read this piece. Well done! I also find it to be true that there is perfect window for my morning commute.

  4. Leigh Anne says:

    I know when I wake up late, I feel like I am rushed the entire day. And yes, that “perfect window” does exist!

Leave a Reply

