Charmed

I got a Valentine this morning. I was on breakfast duty, directing traffic at the cafeteria door as I do every morning. Kids were coming in hauling big bags of treats for their classes, and seemed already “sugared up” even though they were hours away from getting any of those treats. As the crowd thinned out after buses had arrived and the last few car riders were trickling in, a boy came by with just a bag of Charms pops. He stopped and opened the bag and handed one to me and said “Happy Valentine’s Day.”

He’s not one of “my” students, except as I claim all of our school’s students, but he often does some of his work in the room I share with another teacher. One day quite some time ago when he was working in the room, I gave him a compliment. He has never forgotten. He greets me with a smile, saying my name. (Many students walk right past my “Good mornings” as they head to breakfast.) And today, he gave me a Valentine. A green sour apple Charms pop. The first one out of the bag.

I was charmed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Charmed

  1. Yes…our words matter and they remember our specific compliments!

  2. I love the repitition of the word “charm!”- Bookends your piece in a charming way!
    A true small moment that mattered.

  3. always the unexpected is the best !!!

  4. Leigh Anne says:

    Relationships, relationships! That is what it is all about.

  5. mbhmaine says:

    A lovely slice with a perfect ending!

  6. arjeha says:

    How lovely. Kind words mean so much and are never forgotten.

  7. Adrienne says:

    An utterly charming tale.

  8. Ramona says:

    Wonder if he realizes how he impacted your day! I love that he greets you by name with a smile. He’s a charmer, for sure.

Leave a Reply

