The Red, Red Robin

As I walked into school this morning, a fat, red, red robin was bob, bob, bobbing along in the grass. He was unperturbed by my presence. He didn’t seem to notice the raucous barking of dogs in a yard nearby. I paused to watch as the robin would bob along a little way and stop to peck at the ground. Maybe he was finding bugs- I didn’t see him pull up a worm. I guess it was just a few seconds that I stood watching, but it had a calming effect for the start of the day. I hope you have a moment to enjoy nature sometime today!

As the little ditty says:

When the Red, Red Robin Comes Bob-Bob Bobbin’ Along
When the red, red robin comes bob, bob, bobbin’ along, along
There’ll be no more sobbin’ when he starts throbbin’ his old sweet song!

Wake up, wake up you sleepy head
Get up, get out of your bed
Cheer up, cheer up the sun is red
Live, love, laugh and be happy

What if I were blue,
Now I’m walking through,
Walking through the fields of flowers
Rain may glisten but still I listen for hours and hours

I’m just a kid again doing what I did again, singing a song
When the red, red robin comes bob, bob, bobbin’ along
When the red, red robin comes bob, bob, bobbin’
When the red, red robin comes bob, bob, bobbin’ along

Find a happy moment to savor.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Red, Red Robin

  1. arjeha says:

    Always on of my favorite songs as a kid. (Definitely showing my age.) This is a lesson we can all learn…just keep plodding ahead and don’t let trivialities stand in our way.

  2. Thanks for sharing your happy moment. I am savoring your post. And thanks for the “whole song.” Some words I hadn’t thought of in quite some time but what a happy memory!

  3. maryannreilly says:

    Ok, I will do so. It is the small inconsequential things that help us anchor ourselves to the now, the here. That’s what I thought about as I was peering over your shoulder watching the bird, the robin–bobbing along.

  4. Alice Nine says:

    Oh, I love when robins come! They herald spring! When I was growing up, my mother and I watched for their coming each year. Last week, we had a large flock of them spend a couple days in our backyard.

  5. Leigh Anne says:

    Robins and spring go hand in hand…but so do early mornings chirping outside my bedroom window! That I can do without!

  6. I don’t think I ever knew all the words to that song though I got the reference. Thanks for including them all! It is always renewing to stop and observe nature.

  7. Ramona says:

    Like several others, I did not know all the words to this song. Love that the few seconds you took to watch had a calming effect. We need more time in nature to nurture this reflective side and you’ve shown us just how easy it can be.

Leave a Reply

