Hall Art Museum- Gallery #1

We have a lovely Art teacher at our school. Walking down the hall every day is a pleasant experience because of the art on display from her classes. I have loved seeing these watercolors of our city over the past month. These places hold many memories, and many are places I see on my daily commute.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some of the landmarks that inspired the paintings- The Soldiers and Sailors Monument which stands in the circle at the center of Indianapolis, Union Station, LOVE by artist Robert Indiana which stands on the grounds of the Indianapolis Museum of Art, the Indy skyline, the Indianapolis Artsgarden, the Indiana War Memorial, and the State Capitol.

I visited the Soldiers and Sailors Monument as a child- it was scary going up the inside. In the basement there was a collection of historical photos. The ones I remember most were pictures of Abraham Lincoln’s sons. Later, the basement was transformed to a Civil War Museum.

Union Station was the train station in my childhood years. It was where we would pick up my grandmother and aunt when they came from Kentucky to visit us.

I was young and newly in love with my husband-to-be when I visited the IMA and saw the LOVE sculpture the first time.

The Indy skyline has changed through the years and continues to change even now.  I drive by it every morning and afternoon as I go from home to school.

The Artsgarden is a unique venue for art displays and performances. Our Art teacher sent photos of the watercolors and hopes to have them on display when the next class does the project.

My memories of the War Memorial don’t have much to do with it being a memorial. When I was in 6th grade, I was in the state spelling bee which was held in an auditorium there.

In high school, I was in the Model UN at the State Capitol. My partner and I represented Iraq and our project idea was a desalination plant (which was a prohibitively expensive process back then- still expensive, but expanding in use today- maybe we were just ahead of our time). I’ve also visited the State Capitol several times with 4th grade classes as part of our Indiana history studies. I was part of a group from our school that went one year to receive an award from the governor for our school’s academic achievement.

These are only a few of the interesting places to see in Indianapolis. Come visit. Or come by School 90 sometime and take an artistic tour.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hall Art Museum- Gallery #1

  1. It has been ages since I have been to Indianapolis. Love the idea of sharing the students’ art (beautiful watercolors) along with a trip down memory lane with your writing.

  2. lizzypru says:

    Thank you for sharing your city and your memories with us. AND the watercolors are beautiful. Your kids are lucky to have such a wonderful art teacher.

Leave a Reply

