Hall Art Museum- Gallery#2

As I wrote in my first installment of Hall Art Museum, walking down the hall of my school is a pleasure because of the artwork on display. Here are some more examples:

                               

                                                         

I love how colorful these turtles are. Each one is unique, although the same elements of composition are used in all. They are as individual as the 3rd graders who created them.

Another wonderful thing about art is that it invites associations, often emotional.

Seeing these turtles, I recall my daughter’s first non-fiction research project. She wrote a report about turtles. She recreated a habitat and made a clay turtle. That year for Christmas, one of her gifts was a silver ring with a turtle with moving legs and head. She was so young then…now she’s a newlywed.

I think of a bilingual assistant I worked with several years ago. She worked in a project for the preservation of Galapagos tortoises. She had the students (and me) spellbound as she talked about the work she did. It is amazing the stories we all have to tell.

Sometimes these paintings just make me think of being near the water. Maybe that’s because it is close to Spring Break. How I wish a trip to the beach was coming up, but I will be glad to just relax. Maybe I’ll listen to some music with ocean waves in the background.

Hope these paintings brought some pleasant connections to mind for you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hall Art Museum- Gallery#2

  1. arjeha says:

    I, too love the colorfulness of these turtles. The same, yet each one is as unique as the artist who created it. What a joy it must be walking down that hallway.

  2. Ramona says:

    I love seeing these turtle creations of the 3rd graders in your building. Years ago, I job shared a 3rd grade classroom. My partner did art with our students. It was so fun to return on Wednesday or Thursday and see new projects gracing the walls of our classroom. I love that each painting used the same elements of composition.

Leave a Reply

