Celebrating Daffodils

Recently friends have been talking about their daffodils bursting up in bloom. I felt just a little jealous because mine hadn’t appeared yet. I even thought maybe some critter had eaten the bulbs (the tulips I once had disappeared that way). Yesterday, after another streak of unseasonably warm weather (sorry, friends with more snow) we had a chilly day, temperatures dropping in anticipation of a last stand from winter. But it was brilliantly sunny all day. And my daffodils bloomed!

Here I share the poem I wrote (April, 2013) celebrating these flowers I love:

DAFFODILS

Daffodils poke through the brown,

Frilly little cups serving sunshine and spring.

??????????????????????

Even if we have a little cold weather after they appear, we know spring will surely come once we see daffodils.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Celebrating Daffodils

  1. Maria says:

    I always celebrate spring flowers. They are at the top of my list of celebrations I can see that spring is here and warmer weather is around the corner.

  2. arjeha says:

    Our daffodils are wearing a coat of white today. Hope they are warm enough.

  3. lindabaie says:

    I know you saw my “one” daffodil. I was very excited, so know you must have been too with that “crowd”, the “frilly little cups”. I do love looking at flowers, am amazed at the intricacies of their uniqueness. Happy weekend Diane!

  4. oh im so jealous i want some spring flowers to come up in my yard!!

  5. elsie says:

    Daffodils do announce that spring is right around the corner. I see them in yards here. They never fail to make me smile.

  6. Daffodils – I call them all buttercups even though I know there are differences – are a true joy when they appear to remind us that “Lo, the winter is past…” Or at least “going.” They are one of my favorite flowers even though I am allergic to them. I am glad yours have popped up! Your writing about them made me smile.

  7. I share your love of daffodils. In a home I lived in years ago, I planted hundreds of bulbs and the spring was a blaze of buttery yellow during one week in March or April….I never knew when, but loved that week.

  8. Leigh Anne says:

    Yes, we are seeing them down here too, but we are having a bit of a cold snap. Hope it doesn’t do any damage!

  9. travelinma says:

    I am one of those you apologized to. I am sitting in my bedroom with layers including a vest, scarf and winter hat. It is last I knew 22 below with the windchill. I bet it is even colder in the dark of night. Your photo of sweet yellow blooms give me hope that in a month or so, life around here witll be different.

  10. cvarsalona says:

    Diane, I love daffodils but there will none this month. Snow came again yesterday and will more than likely return on Tuesday so I lingered over your poem and image. Would you like to offer this combination for my spring gallery of artistic expressions after I design the winter one?

  11. Ramona says:

    I love daffodils. Still waiting for ours to show up. I still remember how some bobbed their head above the snow one year in OK when I was growing up.

Leave a Reply

