I Had a Minute

Many days after I tuck my phone away in my closet at school, I don’t look at it again until I’m ready to head back home. Sometimes I check it at lunch, and today happened to be one of those days. I had a text from my brother that said, “Call me when you have a minute.” Since I did have a minute, I called.

And I heard my brother say, “Guess who’s going to be a grandpa?”

I was SO HAPPY to hear the news that my niece and her husband will welcome their first child! The estimated due date is October 1…maybe the baby might be just a little early and share my late September birthday. I wonder if my niece will be like her mom and dad and wait until the baby is born to find out if it will be a boy or a girl. Mom and baby were both declared healthy at their doctor visit yesterday. That’s the most important thing.

My brother’s voice was so joyful and full of pride. He has loved being a daddy, I know he’ll be a wonderful grandpa. His three daughters are all grown up, but his son is still at home- he’s an eighth grader. They’ve already been teasing him and calling him “uncle,” and telling him to practice his diaper changing skills.

What a great time this is in our family as the next generation is growing! After many years without little ones… this will be my fourth “great” (three great nephews so far). Family get-togethers are going to be so much fun!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Had a Minute

  1. Congratulations to the your brother & your entire family! New life is always a joyful event.

  2. Morgan says:

    I love how the moment your brother asked the question in the beginning, the post became about all the others in your life and how great this was for them before circling back to how it affects you in the end. What a nice pattern to bring the piece to a close.

  3. shrontk says:

    What a great time in life of bringing a new bundle of joy into the world. Congratulations.

  4. lindabaie says:

    I’m glad you checked! Congratulations to your brother and to you. Hoping for that September day!

  5. arjeha says:

    How wonderful. Congratulations to all.

Leave a Reply

