Nonet for Peru

The rains fell and carried lives away.
Floods took homes, belongings and hope-
brought damage, devastation,
disease and suffering.
Do we hear the pleas?
Will we answer
with love and
renew
HOPE?

A nonet is a nine-line poem beginning with a line of nine syllables and descending to one syllable. It is inspired by music. (Search poetry forms, see Writer’s Digest)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nonet for Peru

  1. mgminer says:

    What an elegant and powerful form! I hope you found comfort in writing it.

  2. This is a thoughtful poem. I can sense the ache in your heart.
    Thank you for including a description of Nonet as I have never heard of it.

    https://wordsmithing2017.wordpress.com

  3. arjeha says:

    This format is new to me. Let us hope that pleas are heard and answered.

  4. Leigh Anne says:

    Such a tragedy. I hope writing about it helps to find some hope, peace, and healing. Thanks for introducing me to a new poem form. I think I will try that during April’s poetry month.

Leave a Reply

