Celebrating Bird Songs

Do you hear them in the morning when you wake?

Birds trilling, chirping, cooing?

They greet the day with a joyful noise,

and stir a song in me, too.

I hope they do the same for you.

I love to hear the birds in the morning. It is a happy way to begin the day, noticing their songs. I think of the many places and times I have heard them. When I lived in an apartment on the twelfth floor of a tall building in the middle of a big city, it was not the noise of the city I woke up to, but instead the gentle cooing of pigeons in the treetops of the park beside us. I often hear a chorus of different birds who stop by in the trees in my yard. I notice them in the short walk from my car into school on weekday mornings. I am not really a birdwatcher. I only recognize the most common birds and know for sure the distinctive songs of only a few. Still, bird songs are a joy I celebrate. What small, everyday pleasures do you celebrate?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Celebrating Bird Songs

  1. blkdrama says:

    So far no birds chirping around here but I’m so ready to blow open the windows, turn off the news a let them in… Ahhhh where’s spring?
    Bonnie

  2. Suzanne says:

    I love your post. Just this morning my husband was staring out the back window of our home. I noticed him staring and said, “Aren’t you glad that spying out our back window means you are watching birds?” Bird song brightens my every day! I think you should get yourself a book or app and start to identify some of the birds you hear. It’s really interesting to begin to notice their individual voices!

  3. arjeha says:

    One of the joys of living in a rural area is that the birds greet you everyday. What a nice start to the day.

  4. Alice Nine says:

    Oh yes! I heard them this morning while the sky was still dark. I love their morning songs.

  5. lindabaie says:

    Robins very early, and chickadees who are going mad looking for their mates. Love hearing about your morning songs, Diane!

  6. I adore the dawn chorus as well. I’m always amazed when I hear someone complain about the birds waking them up. You couldn’t ask for a sweeter alarm, I think.

  7. onathought says:

    Just on my walk today I heard the birds and was loving it. I was listening to a book on my phone while I walked, but enjoyed talking the earbuds out for a bit to just listen to the sign of spring!

  8. jarhartz says:

    I agree. And I think you have to attune your ear to find those songs. So even in a big city you can hear them.

  9. elsie says:

    I wish I knew the sounds to match to the birds, but I don’t, so I just enjoy a chorus of happy tunes. They do create a joyful noise.

  10. How funny that you slice about this today, Diane. Just this morning, I was taking in the song of the Red Winged Blackbird at the feeder. It is a sure sign of spring! I thought of how happy I am to hear it again.

  11. You have to be a listener and a notice to appreciate the birdsong. It is there for everyone but not all pay attention. Thanks for this happy slice today!

  12. djvichos says:

    I love the sounds of our urban birds as they compete with the car horns and traffic. It’s nice to share the space with them, and I’m happy that some birds are city birds.

  13. Sonia says:

    I heard birds last month when visiting a friend in Hawaii, lots of unfamiliar chirps and squeaks. The sounds I look forward to in the city are the summer insects at night in the nearby park. The buzz and hum, and the warm dark are my favorites.

  14. Ramona says:

    My husband loves bird songs, always pays attention, and points them out to me. We have roosting owls nearby and can hear them in the evening when we step outside. It’s so fun.

Leave a Reply

