Celebrating Easter

Childhood memories

Boiling eggs
Vinegary dyes
Magic crayon
Colored eggs

Four baskets
Fake grass
Jelly beans
Bubble gum eggs
Chocolate bunnies
Egg hunt

Two sisters
Matching dresses
One pink
One blue
White gloves
Little hats
Shiny shoes

Two brothers
Dress pants
Shirts with ties
Jackets
Slicked hair
Shiny shoes

Going to church
Hearing the Gospel
Life changed

Thank you Jesus

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Celebrating Easter

  1. lindabaie says:

    I have those memories, too, Diane, remember the new Easter hat I loved, dressing up for church. Happy Easter, love your poem.

  2. You’ve made me think of Easters from my childhood….My sister and I always had matching dresses (at least until I was 10 or so). I remember a small, white wicker purse that my mom would put raisins in to keep me quiet during church. And, of course, there were bubble gum eggs – my favorite! Thank you for this stroll down memory lane this morning. Happy Easter, Diane!

  3. Ramona says:

    Oh, Diane, I love your poem. It brings back happy memories. And that final stanza, celebrating the life changing effect of the good news of the gospel. I’m looking forward to our Easter services and seeing some of those little kids dressed up. And yes, for the opportunity to say, “Thank you, Jesus.”

  4. Alice Nine says:

    Love your celebration of Easter memories, Diane… probably because they evoke so many similar memories for me. And it is all about your final two lines: “Life changed. Thank you Jesus.”

  5. cvarsalona says:

    White gloves and hats-that was the high fashion of the day, Diane. I remember! You captured your childhood memories. I hope your Easter was lovely and full of wonder and hope.

Leave a Reply

