Celebrating Sweet Moments Here and There

We started testing on a Wednesday, continued every day through the next whole week, and wrap on Monday. Testing with two groups takes the whole morning every day, and most afternoons have been filled with make-up tests for kids who were absent. Throw in a couple of difficult discipline situations that affected a lot of students and staff, and it seems like a time without much to celebrate…yet when I think about it, there were some sweet moments here and there that do call for celebration:

* the long-anticipated author visit with Sonia Nazario, sponsored by our district ESL department- she is such an enthusiastic and passionate speaker
* students loved a mini-lesson on onomatopoeia, singing along happily with the short video we watched
* a Sunday afternoon spaghetti dinner (sauce made with our mom’s recipe in hèr cast iron Dutch oven) with my brother and his family
* sleeping in on Saturday (didn’t set the alarm!)and waking to rain falling
* calls from my grown up children on the 17th anniversary of my husband/their dad’s death…good to share the remembering

The sweet moments are always there, but sometimes seem so fleeting in the middle of the ordinary, the boring, the difficult- pausing to write them down makes them linger longer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Celebrating Sweet Moments Here and There

  1. lindabaie says:

    Those moments keep us well in the midst of challenge, I agree, Diane. I assume you meant the singing of the spelling of onomatopoeia to “Old McDonald”? I remember first learning that & thought it was a priceless discovery. Have a happy Sunday!

  2. Alice Nine says:

    Oh! Onomatopoeia just jumped into a lesson as we crafted sentences through imitation in a K-class this week. And the mentor sentence didn’t even have onomatopoeia in it. The kids loved the word, clapping it, counting all the vowels, and saying it over and over. May your coming week, Diane, have many “sweet moments!”

  3. Leigh Anne says:

    When I read your celebration about onomatopoeia, I immediately thought of the Old McDonald song too, but I see Linda has beat me to it. I sing it every year when I teach onomatopoeia and I always tell the kids that this song will be stuck in your head all day long…but you will remember how to spell this word!

  4. Ramona says:

    Oh, you’ve captured such truth! “Pausing to write them down makes them linger longer.” Thanks for capturing your sweet moments & sharing with us.

    • Ramona says:

      Just read the other comments & I need to know the Old McDonald song!

      • I hadn’t heard of it before, but the letters of the word onomatopoeia fit the “Old Macdonald had a farm e-i-e-i-o” part… and googling it, I found an example of putting in words like “with a whoosh, whoosh here” etc. or I suppose you could just sing the animal sounds… I didn’t find any videos of it.

  5. Crystal says:

    Yes, I think writing them down keeps those moments in our thoughts longer. That’s one of the reasons I love participating in the Celebrate blogging. 🙂

Leave a Reply

