Celebrating Relaxation

I am at the lake! My brother and sister-in-law invited me to spend the weekend. The weekend after the last day of school. After wrapping up all the work the end of the school year brings, I have been gifted with a weekend of pure relaxation. I am going to savor, to treasure every moment.

So here is a list from just last night of some of the moments…

sitting on the deck in the sunshine and shade, breeze rustling through the trees, branches swaying

the lowering sun casting sparkling diamonds of light across the water

a sleek speedboat roaring past

big boxy pontoon boats going past much more sedately, but full of people, families having fun

two little dogs, sniffing and deciding to be my friends

carrying a bag with subway sandwiches, chips, and sodas onto the boat, heading to a quiet spot to weigh anchor and float serenely while eating our supper and chatting

pickkng up just a little speed going around the lake, people, boat, and house-watching as we went, my brother at the wheel

watching the sun go down, rays of light breaking through the clouds

coming back to the chairs on the deck, continuing to watch the sunset, the light creating a shining path over the water from one side of the lake to the other, looking as if you could step onto it and walk to a magical place

gazing at the bright full moon peeking through clouds, finding a clear space in the night sky, hiding behind clouds again, with just a soft glow coming through

a peaceful night’s sleep, no alarm, just waking as as sunlight gleamed in through the window

And now a beautiful sunny day stretches ahead of me. I am filled with gratitude. I hope I will be able to let my dear brother and sister-in-love know what a gift they have given.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Celebrating Relaxation

  1. lindabaie says:

    It is a wonderful gift for you here at your ending, Diane. My husband and I lived on a lake long ago, and we treasured that time. I love reading every small bit from yesterday!

  2. margaretsmn says:

    Ah, the lake. Much like my bayou, it offers fun, relaxation, and peace.

  3. Ramona says:

    I love your lake reflection and here’s my favorite phrase: “the lowering sun casting sparkling diamonds of light across the water.” Enjoy every blissful moment of this glorious weekend. Every teacher deserves such TLC.

  4. There’s nothing like being by the water. For me, it brings peace and calm. Enjoy those moments!

  5. cvarsalona says:

    This is tranquility in action, Diane. May I capture your beautiful lake scene with this line: the lowering sun casting sparkling diamonds of light across the water for my spring gallery? Is it possible for you to embed the line on your image and sign off with your name and location? I am working on the gallery now. Gratitude for your thoughts.

  6. cvarsalona says:

    PS: What is your twitter handle, Diane?

  7. onathought says:

    Oh wow – this sounds and looks like a dream! I’m so glad you get a weekend of relaxation! One more week of school here for me… so I’m hoping to relax a little next weekend. I’ll have to pretend my deck is a dock. 🙂

  8. Terje says:

    So many precious moments to create this relaxing weekend. Having a weekend like this is a gift indeed.

Leave a Reply

