Hello, Goodbye

This weekend I will be saying hello to a dear friend. She will be coming here on vacation with her family. They are taking a road trip from Albuquerque, NM to Indianapolis, IN. I haven’t seen her for more than 15 years, but I know it will be as if we haven’t missed a beat. I am so excited!

Any time now I will be saying goodbye to another friend. It has been a long goodbye, stretching out across the years of her battle against ovarian cancer. There have been many times when it could have been the last goodbye. Now there is no doubt, the last goodbye is very near. I repeat how much our friendship has meant each time I am with her because I want that to be the memory we keep.

Hellos and goodbyes with friends are moments to remember. That is why I am writing this down. To remember.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hello, Goodbye

  1. MAK says:

    I am glad you are remembering. Keep doing it.

  2. lindabaie says:

    I’m sorry for this one goodbye, and the hello too. Taking time to appreciate both is good for our own lives. My best girlfriend just called this week and will be here in August to visit. I’m always glad to be with her. I hope you have good visits with both your friends, Diane.

  3. arjeha says:

    Hellos and goodbyes are a part of life. It’s up to us to savor the time in between.

  4. I am sorry to hear of your friend and the impending final goodbye. You are a good friend to her. I am so happy to hear that I will be saying “hello” to you at All Write though! See you soon!!

  5. Lisa Keeler says:

    I’m so sorry for the goodbye you are having to say.

  6. Ramona says:

    Oh, I’m sad not to be at All Write this year. I would love to say hello! Glad your good friend is coming for a visit. It must be difficult to say goodbye to your friend. Thinking of you!

  7. cvarsalona says:

    Diane, hello and goodby – what a story of contrasts. Friendship is a lasting bond. Be of comfort.

Leave a Reply

