Celebrating Encouraging Words

Several times throughout this week, I have been the recipient of encouraging words. I celebrate these gifts.

A fellow teacher thanked me for the invitation I had emailed in March inviting  the ESL teachers to join in the Slice of Life Story Challenge. It had prompted her to start writing again (unknown to me, she had worked as a journalist before she became a teacher). She said how it has meant so much to her to be writing again. I feel grateful and encouraged to keep telling my story of starting to write, and how much I believe in teachers as writers.

That is just one example. In each case, the words were few, said in a fleeting moment, but the effect will be far-reaching. I know I will think of them again when they are needed. And I hope the heart memory of the feeling those words gave me will remind to speak encouraging words to others. Such an easy thing to do, really, and yet so powerful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Celebrating Encouraging Words

  1. Terje says:

    Beautiful celebration appreciating words. I loved your line about the heart memory.

  2. crbrunelle says:

    You remind me that I wanted to write some snail mail today and send it off to some people. I too love your way of describing this as a heart memory. Lovely.

  3. Tara says:

    Thank you and appreciation – they are always welcome, aren’t they?

  4. Words are powerful. It’s amazing how a little gesture, like a thank you, can go a really long way!

  5. Ramona says:

    I think of your words, especially your poetry, that has meant so much to me as a fellow slicer and writer. Thanks for the reminder to share encouraging words more often.

  6. cvarsalona says:

    What a beautiful heart memory to hold close to you, Diane. Sharing encouraging words is a gift we should always give to each other.

  7. mandyrobek says:

    Encouraging words are important. Thanks for the reminder to offer some to those I cross paths with.

  8. lindabaie says:

    Showing appreciation feels good indeed. This is nice to hear, Diane.

Leave a Reply

