First Day Back

I’ve been to lot of PD and worked with school and district committees throughout the summer, but today was our first official day (for teachers) of the 2017-18 School Year. What a great day for reconnecting and getting focused for our new year! We are a Paideia School and today was an extension of our ongoing training. Our topic was Assessment for Teaching and Learning. We used intellectual coaching strategies, so we were actively involved in learning. And, we had a 90 minute lunch break- great for catching up and hearing about summer activities.

But… first day back means early to rise… so now I AM TIRED!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Day Back

  1. Ramona says:

    A 90 minute lunch break – what a luxury! But headed back to school in July – that seems criminal. Hoping you transition okay to those early wake ups. It’s hard to go to bed early when it’s still light outside. But the days are already waning. Here’s to a wonderful back-to-school beginning. When do students show up?

  2. marilynyung says:

    Sounds like you have gotten back into the groove. Go you! We return for in-service Aug. 10. School starts Aug. 16. But guess where I went this morning for three hours? My classroom. Basic setup has begun! Thanks for posting.

  3. Lisa Corbett says:

    I am so glad I am not headed back for over a month! I would like the longer breaks in the middle though. I like starting off the year with PD. It’s a great way to get back in the groove.

  4. arjeha says:

    I thought going back at the end of August was difficult. Not sure I would like this even with the extended breaks during the year.

  5. cvarsalona says:

    Diane, I know about Paideia. Back in the mid-90s, the district I was in became a magnet district. Each elementary school needed to adopt a school reform model. We reviewed Paideia but finally chose the Accelerated School philosophy by Dr. Hank Levin. Our magnet theme was a microsociety. Those days, we were steeped in many trainings.
    Getting up early will be your norm, now.
    Do you have a summer image poem to send me for my summer gallery, Sunkissed Summer?

Leave a Reply

