Celebrating Good Books

I just finished reading a book this morning. Ahhh. It feels good to reach a good ending. Ahhh. It’s bittersweet to get to the end, wishing the book didn’t have to end already.

I read Miller’s Valley by Anna Quindlen. The story is told by Mary Margaret “Mimi” Miller, the story of her relationships in life with her family, friends, and her valley.

Here is a passage I loved:

No one, not even my father, not even my children, has ever loved me the way that man loved me, that’s for sure. There’s something satisfying in being loved that hard, maybe more than loving that hard yourself. I don’t know. Life is full of mysteries.”

The biggest mystery revealed in the story was not neatly resolved, but left the reader to ponder. Can we ever fully know our family secrets? Do we want to? Do we need to?

I thought my mother knew everything.”

That line says so much about mothers and daughters. As does the story of Mimi and her mother throughout the book.

It’s the little things that get to you. I go into the toolbox to hang a new spice rack and can’t find the right screwdriver, and I hear a tongue clicking in my ear and know it’s Buddy Miller, saying to himself, How did I raise a girl who doesn’t keep her tools handy?” 

That is the truth, if you know anything about grief…it’s the little things…

If you are looking for an action-packed, fast-paced read, this book is not it. But if you want to care about characters, reflect on the joy and pain of relationships, the stories that are around us in ordinary life, and our connection to the place we are from, I think you will enjoy this book as I did.

One more book to celebrate. Hope you have many good books to celebrate!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Celebrating Good Books

  1. lindabaie says:

    Another book to savor by Anna Quindlen. Thanks, Diane, this sounds wonderful and I love her books.

  2. Books are usually my go to to cheer me up. A good story never fails to cheer me up.

  3. onathought says:

    So true— bittersweet to finish a good book!

  4. margaretsmn says:

    Thanks for the book recommendation. I love books about realistic people and relationships. I’m not one for plot driven stories. This summer I read Commonwealth by Ann Patchett. Another good family drama to get into.

  5. Ramona says:

    I’ve enjoyed Anna Quindlen’s books, so I’m adding this title to my never ending list of books I want to read. Love the quotes you shared. If I’m remembering correctly, you’re back in school already. Have a fabulous week!

  6. crbrunelle says:

    Books are so awesome. Thanks for sharing some of the powerful bits from this one.

Leave a Reply

