Evening Reflection

At the end of a warm, sunny day
I sit in the glider on my front porch as
Cooler air descends and
A slight breeze stirs.
Pink flowers sway gently on their stems
Leaves flutter on the trees.
Pigeons coo, birds twitter,
Cicadas hum, and crickets chirp-
In the background a train whistle blows,
Cars pass by, and a motorcycle rumbles.
A neighbor tap, tap, taps with a hammer,
Working on some project.
Kids call out to one another,
Absorbed in their play,
Rushing by on their bikes.
A couple stands in a driveway, saying farewell to a friend, and they all linger.
A dog strains at the end of its leash,
Sniffing and sniffing- the owner waves
As they walk by.
The lowering rays of sun cast light and
Shadows over the houses.
An ordinary evening, extraordinary
Peacefulness and gratitude.

porch

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Evening Reflection

  1. Ah- I could picture it all! Thanks for all of the sensory detail that put me in this peaceful scene! I loved your last two lines especially.

  2. cmargocs says:

    Porch-sitting, my favorite outdoor activity! Your neighborhood sounds lovely; thanks for sharing the details that caught your attention.

  3. Ahhhh….that’s how this poem feels. Relief. Relax. Joy!

  4. maryannreilly says:

    A lovely sound and sight portrait of home.

  5. Adrienne says:

    You really captured a beautiful summer evening. I miss the sound of cicadas.

  6. marc-aureled says:

    When the calendar turns to August it is a reminder that summer is fleeting. Your post reminded me to get out on the deck to sit, listen and embrace these summer moments.

  7. arjeha says:

    How lovely this sounds. A perfect place to relax.

  8. Ramona says:

    Oh, I’m so glad to read another of your poems! I love all the details of the summer evening. What a gift to capture and share with us, thanks for taking the time to reflect on this ordinary evening.

  9. Your poem made me homesick for my porch! I’m away at a PD institute this week and missing my porch like nobody’s business. My husband has been Facetiming me from there, so I can hear the birds and feel like I’m home. “An ordinary evening/extraordinary peacefulness and gratitude.” Yes.

Leave a Reply

