Celebrating a Good Neighbor

The alarm clock went off yesterday morning, and as usual, I tapped the snooze alarm (an unfortunate habit). A few minutes later, a piercing alarm filled the air. Confused, I sleepily realized it wasn’t the alarm clock, but the smoke alarm. As the realization sank in, the sound stopped. Whew, just a warning the battery was failing. I made one foolish attempt to climb up and replace the battery, but quickly realized I couldn’t safely do it. It was too early to try to get someone else to help, so I got ready and headed to school for the day. Off and on, I wondered if the alarm was blaring or if it had stayed silent. I thought I should head home ASAP after school to get it taken care of. Then a retired friend dropped by after school, and I went out to dinner with her. When I finally opened the front door at home, I was relieved to be greeted with silence. I walked next door and explained my dilemma to my neighbor. He grabbed a small stepladder and came right over and replaced the batteries in both of my smoke detectors. So this morning, I am celebrating safety and quiet… but most of all, celebrating my good neighbor.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Celebrating a Good Neighbor

  1. Ramona says:

    Good neighbors are a blessing indeed! And what fun to enjoy dinner with a retired friend. Happy weekend, Diane!

  2. cvarsalona says:

    Diane, this has happened in my house too. It is annoying when you do not know what to do or you are in a rush. It is great that your neighbor came to the rescue.

  3. margaretsmn says:

    Those doggone alarm batteries have startled us many times. And we never seem to be able to find the right ladder, the right battery, the right sensor…Glad you have a good neighbor to help.

  4. lindabaie says:

    Those alarm beeps give me a sinking feeling. With our codes here, I have them in every room, thus when one goes, that means more on their way. I’m glad you had help, Diane. What a nice neighbor and celebration! I have a great step ladder that helps a lot!

  5. crbrunelle says:

    Good neighbors are the best! I’m glad there was no fire.

Leave a Reply

